We use cookies on this website. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device.

External Consultative Panel

Terms of reference

The Legal Aid Board (“the Board”) established a Consultative Panel a number of years ago. The terms of reference are as follows:

    1. To provide a forum to enable the Board to keep stakeholders informed and updated on relevant developments in the areas in which the Board has an interest;
    2. To facilitate stakeholders to provide feedback and assistance to the Board on the Board’s services from the perspective and informed position of the stakeholder.

Conduct of business

The Panel will operate on the following basis:

    1. The Panel will engage through formal meetings three times a year with further engagement as required;
    2. At each meeting the Panel Chairperson will provide a service delivery update on the business of the Board. The Panel will be chaired by John McDaid, CEO of the Board and Designated Public Official under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015, or by his nominee;
    3. The Secretary to the Panel will post the agreed agenda and agreed minutes of each meeting on the Board’s website; and
    4. All correspondence in relation to the business of the Panel will be conducted through the Secretary to the Panel.  

Composition and membership of the Panel

The External Consultative Panel consists of the following members:

  • Mr John McDaid, Chief Executive, Legal Aid Board
  • Mr Niall Murphy, Director of Civil Legal Aid, Legal Aid Board
  • Ms Fiona McAuslan, Director, Mediation Services, Legal Aid Board
  • Ms Shirley Coulter, Council of the Bar of Ireland
  • Mr Eilis Barry, FLAC
  • Ms Joan O’Mahony, Law Society and O’Mahony’s Solicitors
  • Ms Susan Shanahan, Citizens Information Board
  • Ms Ann Marie O’Connor, MABS
  • Ms Freda McKittrick, Barnardos
  • Ms Susan Ryan, Women’s Aid
  • Ms Catherine Cosgrove, Immigrant Council of Ireland
  • Ms Andrea McDermott, AMEN Support Services
  • Ms Margaret O’Neill, Courts Service
  • Mr Brian Collins, Irish Refugee Council
  • Mr Noel Gorman, Secretary to the Panel, Legal Aid Board


In light of the requirement for transparency under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 the Board will provide the following information on its website:

    1. The Name of the Chairperson of the Panel / details of employing Organisation
    2. Name of Members / details of employing Organisation
    3. Whether any non-public servant members were previously designated public officials 
    4. Terms of Reference of the Panel
    5. Agenda of each meeting
    6. Minutes of each meeting

Minutes of Previous Meetings

In accordance with the terms of reference of the Panel, agreed minutes of previous meetings are available to download here.

March 2018 (MS Word Down Load)

November 2017 (MS Word download)

July 2017 (MS Word download)

March 2017 (MS Word download)