We use cookies on this website. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device.

Meet The Board

In accordance with the Civil Legal Aid Act 1995, the Board is made up of a chairperson and twelve ordinary members. The then Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality, Frances Fitzgerald TD, announced the appointment of a new Board on the 8th November 2016 with a term of office to end on the 1 November 2021. In keeping with the Government’s policy, the appointments were dealt with through the Public Appointments Service portal www.stateboards.ie.

The Chairperson is Mr Philip O'Leary, solicitor, a partner with FitzGerald Solicitors, Cork. The other members serving on the Board are:

  • Anne-Marie Blaney, Solicitor, Legal Aid Board staff representative
  • Thomas Brennan, Chartered Accountant
  • Deirdre Burke, Solicitor
  • Martina Conville, Officer of the Minister for Justice and Equality (appointed on the 5th January 2018)
  • Nuala Jackson, Senior Counsel
  • Gordon Jeyes, former Chief Executive of Tusla, the Child and Family Agency
  • Maurice Lawlor, Officer of the Minister for Social Protection
  • Freda McKittrick, Assistant Director, Barnardos
  • Ellen O'Malley Dunlop, Former CEO, Dublin Rape Crisis Centre; Adjunct Professor, UL School of Law
  • Michael O'Connell, Legal Aid Board staff representative
  • Evelyn O'Connor, Officer of the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform
  • Nuala Egan, Barrister at Law (appointed on the 21st February 2017)